Home » Life » It Truly Is a Scandal

It Truly Is a Scandal

Tonight, I watched Scandal, one of my favorite shows ever. I appreciate Shonda Rimes and company’s ability to put together a damn good story line every time. Tonight was no exception, but it was much harder for me to watch.

Within the first seconds of the episode airing, my heart fluttered and sank at the same time. I remembered that two weeks ago, when I saw the preview for this episode, I was debating whether or not I should watch it. I knew I’d feel the way that I feel now. But I got sucked in by the good writing. Dammit, Shondaland!

This episode was about a father looking for justice after his 17-year-old son is shot to death by a cop. Hearing this man detail his mission to keep his child safe his entire life, teaching him all the right things, nurturing his inquisitive spirit, hoping that his child would at least make it to 18 and go to college, where he finally has a chance at a better life was all too familiar. It echoes the sentiment that many Black people across the country feel and have felt for centuries in America.

Oftentimes,we spend so much time working, scratching and fighting for the best for our families, and hoping that they can at least make it far enough to hope for something great to happen. To think, all 17 years this man spent loving, struggling, worrying, shielding his son from danger, and he passes away just short of that 18-year milestone because of preconceived notions based on deep-seated racial stereotypes.

Racism is a tough subject for me. It’s one of the things that brings me the most anxiety in life. Add the threat of state-sanctioned violence to it and it becomes an entirely different beast.

I try to avoid images like the ones shown in this episode, because the reality of it hurts so much, and not thinking of it helps makes it possible for me to leave the house. What’s worse, I feel powerless to do anything about it. People smarter and braver than me have been fighting for our rights for centuries. Yet, here we are, reflecting on the realities of racism in this country through current events and the television programs that reflect it.

People talk about supposed “Black-on-Black” crimes as a reason why anyone can take a swing at killing Black people. Supposedly, we shouldn’t be outraged by the murder of civilians at the hands of the only people with a license to not only get away with murder, but get praised for it. As if white people don’t kill each other. I guess it’s different for them under some strange cosmic order.

The violent bi-products of racism that exist and have existed since my ancestors were kidnapped and brought to this country is a threat to my very existence. It’s a threat to the well-being and existence of my family, my friends, people that live near and around me, and it’s beyond troubling.

It keeps me up at night.

It makes me not want to leave the house.

It makes me not want to have children, because I would have to worry every day like the father in this episode did.

It terrifies me every time my fiance leaves the house, wondering if this will actually be the time (after the other dozens of times he’s been randomly stopped and questioned) that something will take a turn for the worst.

It makes me not want to have hopes and dreams, at the risk of having to fight harder for them just for them to be taken anyway.

It makes me tired from having to constantly explain and defend my experience to those who have never been through it.

It’s ridiculous.

While Scandal highlights secret atrocities happening right under the nose of the American public, nothing is worse than reality.

The fact that this country was built on the blood, sweat, tears and souls of colored people who are still treated like sub-humans is a scandal.

In a country that, for centuries, conditioned everyone that is a non-white male to hate themselves can even begin to paint a mirage of the contrary is a scandal.

The fact that powerful American entities have taken and continues to siphon wealth and opportunities away from people of color, and then blame these same people for fighting and scraping to survive is a scandal.

And for anyone to suggest that these very victims of institutionalized racism are the sole cause of their complicated and traumatizing situation is a scandal.

At least it should be. But to many, it’s not. It’s a thing to pretend isn’t a thing.

It’s absurd that this country waves its flags and goes so hard to find terrorists, but I am terrorized. Colored people are terrorized. Poor people are terrorized. Women are terrorized. LGBT people are terrorized. Anyone that could possibly be considered an “other” is constantly terrorized, not because they’ve done anything wrong, but because they attempt to exercise the human rights that some believe they weren’t meant to have.

That this isn’t considered urgently problematic makes life much stranger and more unbelievable than any fiction I could ever watch on the small screen.

3 thoughts on “It Truly Is a Scandal

  1. I am so glad to see that you still writing in your blog. I think you are a terrific writer with a lot of knowledge and experience to share with the word. Amen for “It’s absurd that this country waves its flags and goes so hard to find terrorists, but I am terrorized. Colored people are terrorized. Poor people are terrorized. Women are terrorized. LGBT people are terrorized. Anyone that could possibly be considered an “other” is constantly terrorized, not because they’ve done anything wrong, but because they attempt to exercise the human rights that some believe they weren’t meant to have” This can not have been said more perfectly. I have been feeling this way since I was able to understand my existence. I am from a country where people don’t even know how to identify themselves because we do not know where our ancestors exactly come from so its easy for our colonist to play around with our history. I have been put down and humiliated because I don’t fit into any mold, not black enough to be called black, not white enough to be called white, not Arab, Muslim yes, but an inexperienced one. Not just a mother, a poor one. I have been demeaned by any possible way. However, I do not feel bad for myself, I really don’t. I feel bad for these terrible souls that have been able to manipulated the vulnerable. Unfortunately racism still exist but in it’s worse form ever. It is not apparent by physical conduct but it’s now a power system designed to keep the minority in the worse condition in life. This is why we will not see leaders like Martin Luther Kind and Malcom X anymore because the physicality of racism has disappeared here. The reality is that no one gets physically abused and humiliated the way the minority were in the past. Instead its a more psychological vicious cycle that can be hard to dissever the roots. It’s mind blowing that a small percentage of people have the amount of wealth that the rest of the people in this country have and control the way of life to better their wealth (how can they be so selfish and let child go hungry and cold in the streets). They are worst than any kind of demon and monster you can ever imagine to create. There is not enough wealth in the world that can be given to me if I was asked to switch my role in society with theirs. So I am proud to not fit in the mold and have gone and will go through in life. I think our struggles is a beautiful thing and worth to be celebrated in the most beautiful way because it is beautiful, to be black, a mother, a poor person, a disable and whatever other type of minority you can think of because this is what makes them human. So let them be wealthy and control the world for as long as they want but our pure suffered soul will prevail on the day we will face our Creator. And these monster will have the worst kind of punishment any human being can fathom possible and the punishment will be infinitive without an end and without a break. So let this pure souls enjoy while it last.

    Sorry for the long comment but this is also a very sensitive subject for me. Just to let you know you are beyond perfect based on your skin color, your womanhood, your imperfections, struggles and experience. All of what you went through is not to victimize you but it is something to smile about, to be proud about. You will one day be a good mother because of this and you will be your child’s warrior and she/he will glance at you with unconditional and explainable love. And you will be their Martin Luther Kind, Gandhi and Malcom x. We might not be these glorified leaders but we will touch the heart of the most important people, which are our children the ones we will kill and die for.

    • Girl, you will not make me tear up like this at work. I refuse! lol

      But seriously, thank you for sharing your beautiful perspective! I appreciate every comment I receive in my posts. The one you’ve written is one of the special ones because it’s real and embodies type of conversation that I hope to promote. We need to be vocal and honest about our experiences, both the beautiful and painful. It only makes the experience better

      When you said:

      “You will one day be a good mother because of this and you will be your child’s warrior and she/he will glance at you with unconditional and explainable love. And you will be their Martin Luther Kind, Gandhi and Malcom x.”

      Waterworks! lol

      That was so touching! I want children someday, and I’m always wondering if I’d be good at it. I’m afraid to fail them. This was quite uplifting. 🙂

      Thanks also for the encouragement to keep writing. I’ve actually been thinking of more ideas and holding myself to put them out. So, write I shall!

      All the best to you and yours!

      • Taja, yes please write because you are terrific and quite inspiring. You really gave me some motivation to write about these type of topics that can be quite sensitive and close to the heart.
        Believe me I felt that way too before I gave birth to my first. I didnt want her to come out of me. It is a very tough job being a parent but the most rewarding and important one. Being a parent will change your entire world, and there are very hard and tiring moments. But there were days where I was sad and the only thing that up lifted my spirit was my daughter, she gives me pure joy. The definition of a good parent is numerous but when you are capable of identify and sympathize with human emotion, I think your future child will be ok. If worst comes to worst, if your child grows up to be an ungrateful piece of brat. Rest a sure that when he or she will become a a parent themselves they will finally be enlighten and understand at last all your struggles.

Leave a Reply

