Home » Life » If You Can’t Say Something Nice…

If You Can’t Say Something Nice…

Well, I’m not going to say I failed the #31WriteNow challenge, but…

you-tried

Whatever! Gimme my ‘A-for-effort’ sticker!

I definitely stopped writing. Why? Because I was going through a lot, and I noticed that my writing started to reflect what I was really feeling. You would think that as a writer, I’d be able to use this as fuel and even create more content. However, I doubt people would stick around if they sensed human emotion. I mean, let’s be honest, unless you’re making people feel all warm and fuzzy, they’re likely to back away slowly.

Yep, I’m listening…

Besides that, I was damn tired! When I post anything, I want it to be of quality. I really didn’t have much time or energy to post high-caliber content every single night. It just wouldn’t be fair to my readers. Because, you know what? I like you people! I want you to feel cozy in my life space.

What I have to say is not all┬álikely to be comforting or pleasant. Life just isn’t that forgiving. Maybe I could help someone with my writings about real life and the things that do funny things to my emotions. But I don’t know how to say it yet. Maybe I haven’t discovered my method of relaying the uniquely interesting version of my views and experiences. Well…actually…I take that back. I know how, but I just didn’t have the focus to do that for everything that I was dealing with every day. Somehow, I’ll open that door to people.

Also, there are some real things going on in the world, and I don’t feel good about what I’m seeing. I could talk about the good and bad in my personal life, and I feel like I should probably talk about social ills and how we could change things, but I feel like it’s being drowned out by all the other writers and voices saying the same things. I don’t know how I feel about discussing music, food, or my experiences at work when Syria is likely about to be bombed, police brutality is still a daily occurrence, and poverty is a very real, widespread socioeconomic phenomenon.

I’m just not the type to be silent on these things. I have every intention of addressing them, but when I speak, I want it to be loud and different. I want it to be relevant. I want it to be authentic. Right now, I’m just taking the time to find my voice and set the tone so that I’m not drowned out.

Leave a Reply

