Home » Life » Hello, Fenway!

Hello, Fenway!

Tonight, I attended my first baseball game ever at Fenway. 😀

As a great big ‘thank you’ for our hard work and strong results over Q1 and Q2, and to celebrate our successful first year in operation, management took our entire department out for a Red Sox game! And…AND they gave us $30 a piece to blow on food and beer. Like, for free. AND, they gave us a ride to the venue from the office. I didn’t have to hop on a train or…you know…hitchhike.

Anyway, I was in awe at how huge the place is. It’s historic, it’s almost majestic. I stood in one spot and spun in a circle, taking it all in, and I noticed…FOOD!

It’s so BEAUTIFUL!

Food stands everywhere! As far as the eye could see! I felt like Templeton in Charlotte’s Web when he went to the fair. I had $30 free dollars to spend on whatever I want! Someone hold me! Hold me back! Hold my hand! Hold me up!

Then, I looked at the prices…sweet Christmas, $4 bottled water?! $7.50 for a footlong?! $8 beers?! What kind of mockery is this?!

$10-WHAT?!

My coworkers and I did all kinds of economic acrobatics trying to get the best use of our voucher dollars. I knew I wasn’t getting beer, so I decided to get some delicious Italian sausages loaded with peppers and onions, a cup of soda, and some delicious fried dough. Oh, yeah!

And the seats…pretty freakin’ good! We had a very good view of the field.

082813190259

Here’s what’s cool about the people I work with…they know how to have a damn good time. The managers are hilarious! And they’re super generous. They bought us beer on top of the beer vouchers. They did raffles for merchandise, and they made sure everyone was comfortable. Best management staff ever! They work hard and expect high-quality results, but they appreciate the staff and like to play hard when the work is done. It was great to have everyone together cracking jokes, experiencing a live game, throwing back some beers, eating good food, and being even crazier in public than we are in the office.

Watching a baseball game is fun, but there’s something different about actually being there to see it live. There’s a certain energy that television can’t capture. You have to be there to cheer, feel the cool air on your face, watch a home run unfold, slosh in the light puddles of spilled beer, do the wave 5-10 times, and sing Sweet Caroline with thousands of semi-drunk strangers and coworkers.

Now I see why people flock to Fenway and crowd the trains during my evening commute. I see why people watch baseball games. Dammit it’s fun!

To top it all off, the home team won 4-3! Perfect ending!

2 thoughts on “Hello, Fenway!

  1. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own blog and was wondering what all is needed to get setup?
    I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty
    penny? I’m not very internet smart so I’m not 100% certain.
    Any recommendations or advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks

Leave a Reply

