Home » Life » I Wanna Stand on My Head, Too! (Yoga)

I Wanna Stand on My Head, Too! (Yoga)

I keep hearing about yoga. Supposedly it’s so awesome for your physical well-being, it’s mentally and emotionally centering, and makes you able to float on air and stand on your head…or something.

How the hell...?

How the hell…?

I see these people doing things like crazy contortions and poses, and sculpting these amazing bodies. All I can think is, I want to do that too! I…I want to be physically and emotionally centered! I like chanting! I like physical activity! I wanna be balanced, too, dammit!

Thing is, I’ve never really done it, except for that one time in the gym…there was a class…I couldn’t stand on one leg…and I wobbled. That was almost 5 years ago, and I’m ready to try again. I want to see what all the fuss is about. I want to see what people are raving about. The problem is that I don’t know that much about it, and I’m nervous that I don’t have the patience for it. And I’m a little apprehensive, because, it seems like a trend. Too many people are into it now, and it feels like the “thing to do”, and I hate trends. BUT, that won’t stop me from something beneficial.

I’ll be honest (yeah, like I’m going to lie about it) I am wondering if I’ll have the patience to sit through a slow-moving yoga class. It looks like something where I’ll sign up, get all excited, go to a class, sit there super annoyed because it’s too pretentious, gimmicky, and cheesy; then storm out never to return or try the practice again.

My problem is that I have little patience. I like things fast and super-active, and I like to actually feel my physical activities. I have read that I will feel the results after a session, because it is a workout. I mean, I’m smart enough to know what to expect and do my research, but I don’t want to spoil the practice for myself.

I figure I’ll try Asthanga, Vinyasa, and Kundalini. Asthanga (or Power Yoga) is supposedly more physically active and demanding. I think I’ll try that and a combination of the others. I wonder if there’s a beginner’s course for Asthanga or if you have to do other types of yoga first and warm up to the more extreme versions.

Also, there’s the little issue of regular practice. I find it hard to maintain routine sometimes. Life just gets crazy. But I do have willpower to stick to something. I also can’t see myself paying to go to a class every week. I can do it at home myself to the tune of a DVD or youtube video, AND I can set my own schedule and not have to rush to a class after work.

I’m trying to see if that’s even the right way to do it. I don’t really know who to ask or where to start. I guess this is part of the yogi journey that I’ve often heard about.

*sigh* I’ll see where this takes me.

Whoever, wherever, whenever, whatever you are: Do you practice yoga? How’s that going for you?

2 thoughts on “I Wanna Stand on My Head, Too! (Yoga)

  1. i’ve been considering yoga too! i actually took a class once and honey, i was horrible!! hahaha… it’s definitely a workout that you feel all the way through. or at least it was for me because i’m not the most bend-y person on the planet. shhhhh…i can’t even touch my toes!! but i feel that the only way i’ll ever be able to touch ’em to do some yoga. i haven’t signed up for anymore classes though. for right now i’m just sticking with yoga ondemand via cable. 🙂

    • Good ol’ “OnDemand”! I need to switch providers. I would have to pay extra to get that feature, and the selections are wiggedy-wack.

      I hear you. Me and youtube are going to make it work. lol

Leave a Reply

